Went to a city yesterday…

A the City of Rocks, that is.

City of Rocks here in southern Idaho is a pretty spectacular place. What it is, is a huge clump of granite rock that has giant portions of it sticking out of the ground. These giant portions have been eroded by weather over time to bring us what you see in the above image (and featured imaged too). Did I say the place is spectacular? Oh yeah, I did.

Me and my best friend Hyatt (as seen by a glimpse in the top Panoramic shot) set out to hike and find a bug rock that we could safely (within reason of course, it’s no fun if you make it too easy) climb. We had not climbing gear so we set out to do it the old fashioned way: with just our hands and feet! So we spotted a big rock that we wanted to climb and made our way to it, looking for the best place to scale without immediately tumbling to the ground 😛

After a couple no-go attempts….

…we found a route up the stubborn rock! Hyatt is in the following pics while I am nowhere to be seen. Somebody has to take the pics, yes? 😉

almost there....

resting!

The guy (me) with the camera finally catches up.

Looking down and only halfway up!

And after a little bit longer we finally made it to the top!

The view on the other side.

Looking down at Hyatt near the top. Good show of scale here.

View from the top!

And of course we had to get down! So documented the journey via video 🙂 All in all it was a fun day!

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Went to a city yesterday…

  1. Freedom Smith says:

    Wow…..that is scary, spidey!! Yikes. I have rock climbed and repelled but I have not done free climbing, especially at the heights you two were climbing. Glad you made it to the top safely. What a spectacular view!! Amazing. (kind of makes our Rock City look like Rock Hill). I have not watched the video yet. I sure hope no one gets hurt!!
    😯

  2. Freedom Smith says:

    WOW!! Just watched the video. Now I know why your name is spiderwolve!! Do you do this type of climbing often?

    I got confused about which one was you. Are you the one in the jeans or the one taking the video? Glad you two are safe!! What an amazing place. The pictures are fantastic. Sometime, I will tell you about my rock climbing experience on Stone Mountain, Georgia. SCARY!

    • spiderwolve says:

      I’m the one taking the video 🙂

      I used to freestyle clumb the rocks up there all the time (nerve racking experience sometimes) this was the first time I had done it in a few years. Was alot of fun 😀

      • Freedom Smith says:

        I am glad that you had fun and made it down safely. It was a bit scary, seeing how high you were and all. I suppose you are trying to get some climbing in before your move?

        Glad you two made it down safely!

  3. Alicia says:

    Yeah, Freedom, this is our play ground. 🙂
    Its practically in our backyard. Climbers come from all over. I’ve been there hundreds of times. SO much fun.

  4. spiderwolve says:

    Yeah, the whole trip was a bit spontaneous. And we really couldn’t go there without climbings something 😛 You probably noticed in the vid, but we were a little surprised at how steep and precarious the route we took looked and were very glad we didn’t take the first route we tried to get up, because it was much steeper!

  5. Thumbs up. I would have been the one with the zoom lens taking the pictures upwards from the ground and waited there.
    I mean one thing is getting up there – the way down …. *shivering like a little girl*

  6. One thing I did not do when I was there was to go out that way, but I didn’t have anybody to go with me anyways 😦

  7. That is amazing–I want to go there with my kids!

  8. kerstin66 says:

    The shots about the climbing and the rocks are very impressing-I love the shots.

  9. Aussie Emjay says:

    What fabulous looking landscape. I’d be taking the photos and probably not make it to the top!!

Leave a Reply

