Life Can be a Little Surreal Sometimes

Helo vs Bi plane!

Yes, this really happened!

I’ve been home for two weeks now and I’ve been looking around for people who I might know that are still living here and are working and whatnot and hadn’t really spotted anybody I know from memory until today. You see my home town is small compared to most towns in this great ol’ U.S. of A. It boasts (according to the last census count of 2000, which I’m sure is bigger by now) a population of 10,000 for my town. The surrounding smaller towns like Paul, Heyburn, Declo, Rupert and Oakley are substantially smaller. Yes, smaller then 10,000 people if you’ll beleive it. Back east you can get 10,000 people within 5 to 6 city  blocks within most cities.

But not here! You see, the main place where all the shopping for things here is, of course, Wal-Mart and you would expect to run in to atleast some people I know there within the last week and a half that I’ve been here, but nope.

Today, however, I ran in to my aunt, a friend from high school named Alex who just happens to be working at Wal Mart, another friend named Elijah who is going in to the National Guard next year and a scattering of other familiar faces that popped up here and there. Most of which are working at Wal Mart. Go figure.

Why was I at Wal Mart you ask.

Well, I didn’t go there looking for people, despite how I opened this blog. I went there for a camera (which I still haven’t got—I want one that doesn’t run off of double A’s and has it’s own lithium battery), a mouse for my laptop to play Star Craft 2 so I don’t have to steal my dads, and a fishing license so i can legally go fishing with my dad tomorrow 🙂

Upon going to purchase my fishing license and mouse the man at the counter was an elderly man who noticed I that I am military. Upon noticing he told me that he had been in the Air Force once upon a time, working as a postal clerk in France around the time that the French decided to kick our military units out of their country and that in fact he was an E-3 doing a Staff Sergeants job when it came to closing up shop and was one of the last people to leave the base (don’t know which one) as they closed the base up and moved to Germany.  The surreal part of this was that I had just listened to an elderly man recount a piece of history that most people these days have no idea about and it was slightly humbling. It also seems that I run in to old Vets left and right; like my Uncle David’s dad being a former Navy Boatswains Mate (or deck seaman) during the Korean war and recounting what went on with the ship he served, a ship whose name I forget but remember it was a troop transport.

As for the picture I put in to this blog entry, you can find the story here. 🙂

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Life Can be a Little Surreal Sometimes

  1. Alicia says:

    LOL! That’s where I see everyone, Wal-Mart. I think its mass, compared to the rest of the town, creates a central gravitational pull.

  2. Freedom Smith says:

    Did you find the things you were looking for? My son loves to fish and one of my daughters does as well! My 19 year old son has his grandfathers pole and tackle box and the box had the old lures. I made a shadow box, with pictures of my father and my grandfather fishing, and my son holding up a fish. I hot glued the old lures inside the box. I did a vox post on it but who knows where that is.

    I was wondering if you found the camera you wanted because I use Amazon.com a lot. I buy the kids Christmas there and things like that. I try to find cameras with rechargeable batteries. I found Anna a good camera and I was also able to get the batter and the proper recharger.

    You get fishing licenses at Wal-Mart??

    • spiderwolve says:

      Yeah, got my fishing license and got my camera today. Pretty nice camera. Took some pics I’ll likely post a blog about today 😛

      And yes, we can get fishing licenses at wal mart in these parts, not sure about where you are. Should be the same because a good majority of wal marts these days sell hunting/fishing supplies.

Leave a Reply

